I posted “Comment Filter Set on "Fry"” last week, as I've been battling comment spam from the South Pacific. The domain identifiers are:
- .tt (extension)
- .to (extension)
- .tf (extension)
- trax.dynu.net
- be.ma (extension)
- us.ma (extension)
- tag.host.com
They're hitting me with between 1,200 and 2,000 spams per day, placing URLs for a variety of crap. My filter cleans them out after-the-fact, so no harm done (save for some wear and tear on the hardware and a small performance hit whilst they're doing their posting). I've blocked a few of the repeating IP addresses, but they seem to be using a botnet; the IP addresses are used for a few hours' spam and then on to others.
I'm sure I'm not the only one who is seeing these. If there's anyone with information on ways to track these hosers and shut them down, please contact me and I'm happy to assist.
I have a ton of IP addresses to their botnet, if anyone is interested. So far, contacting a few of the hosting providers has been a dead end.
If you post a comment and it gets whacked, please forward it to me with the post you'd like to comment upon and I'll get it in.
My apologies for any inconvenience.